on making do and loving bananas

I remember hearing my grandfather say how much money he lost that he had in the bank, you know, during the Depression.  I don’t remember how much it was, but it seemed like a big amount to me at that time.

They had a bank on Deal’s Island.  And that bank just closed during the Depression.

It was very depressing, very depressing times, but people in that day and time … most everybody had their own vegetables and they had … well, my grandfather raised hogs.  He’d always kill a hog every fall, have his own hams and sausages and all that.  They had a lot of their own meats.  They managed to make do with what they had.

We had a corner grocery store, but it wasn’t a whole lot.  I can remember, very seldom we ever had bananas.  Every once in a while, my grandfather would go to Princess Anne on the bus and get these things that we couldn’t get at the corner grocery.  Once in a while, he’d bring bananas home.  Well, I love bananas, but I didn’t have that many of them, and then, when I’d go to Baltimore during the summer to visit, my father and aunts up there, they had bananas.  Well, I thought that was the greatest thing there ever was.

That was so wonderful to have bananas when you wanted it.  And, in the city at that time, they had what they called hucksters going up and down the alley and calling out what they had on their wagons.  They had a horse and wagon, pulling all the fruit and vegetables and whatever.  And you could just hear them going up and down the alley, hooting and hollering out what they had on their wagon.

And I remember one aunt especially, she would always get bananas if I was there.  She always had plenty of bananas.  And they tasted so good to me.  It was a treat for me to have bananas.  I thoroughly enjoyed them.

From an interview with Una Holland, summer 2010.

Leave a comment

Filed under economy, food

Leave a Reply

