on jumping off a truck in the strawberry field

Willie: It might not be so funny, but I can remember picking strawberries, and that’s something I always wanted to do.  I wanted to, you know, ’cause when I was going to school, somebody says, “oh yeah, I went in the strawberry field this morning, and I made so many dollars.”  So I said, “mm mm mm – I  just want to do that one morning.”

So then, when I got old enough to drive, my brother and I would go down to the strawberry field and we’d pick strawberries and come on back home and rushing like everybody else for us to get on the bus, so then we can go tell stories too, that we had picked strawberries that morning.

On this particular day – this was a Saturday. And Ma told me, “Don’t jump off the back of the truck down in the strawberry field.” Because, you know, after we’d get through picking strawberries, we used to always beat it off so the grass and everything, the weeds wouldn’t be high.

I jumped – I didn’t … I jumped off.  Everything was fine. Climbed back on the truck.  And so I jumped off the back of the truck and we were playing and laughing, having a wonderful time. Got back on there, jumped off again.  Didn’t have any problems.  So I says, “I’m gonna try this again.” Climbed on the truck, jumped off – and when I jumped off, I jumped wrong, landed on a stick. Honey, I  yelled and screamed. Ma says, “what’s wrong with you?”  I says, “nothing.”

So when I got home that night, I went to take my bath.  I went in the bathroom and massaged my little muscle in my leg and I said, “Oh my God, please don’t let me have to take my leg off at the knee, ’cause I was doing something Ma didn’t want me to do.”  Man, I thought about that  a few days, and every night I would come in, massage that leg, and massage that leg, put the alcohol on it and then we had Merthiolate and all that stuff.  Man, put that on there, and so one day I was just washing and massaging the leg and I did like this, and a stick about that long came out of my leg.

Lee: An inch and a half?

Willie: Yes.  You think I ever told Ma about that?  Not ever.

Lee (to Christian): You’ve heard that story before?

Christian: Mm mhm.

Willie: No, you think I was gonna … after Ma told me not to do it?  Oh no.  Oh no.  I wanted to make it to my 15th birthday, okay.   ‘Cause she did not play.  Ma and Pa did not play.  When they tell you not to do something, they meant it.  But they didn’t have – you know, just like lots of times, you know, as far as discipline goes, they were disciplinarians, but they simply talked to you and told you what not to do.  We didn’t have all this hitting and carrying on.  It just wasn’t that.  But I tell you, you think I jumped off another truck in the strawberry field?  I don’t jump off a truck now.

from an interview with Prentice Christian and Willie Press, summer 2010.

Leave a comment

Filed under economy, education, food

Leave a Reply

